Croissants and the New Year

My husband is not a fan of holidays in which the main goal is to get very drunk and remember nothing.  I was a fan until about 2010, when I realized that I didn’t really like them that much either.  So since we’ve been living together, we’ve had quieter evenings at home, or with a friends or two.  We continued that tradition yesterday, watching the Grand Army Plaza fireworks from our 5th floor window and enjoying a movie (this one), brownies, and cat cuddling.  We also spent the morning at my OB, for my 16 week appointment.  All continues to be well, and every time I see the little bean on the sonogram, I’m totally blown away.  (Pregnancy is both totally mundane, as in it’s something that humans do all the time and everyone comes to the earth this way, but totally novel and revolutionary to my individual body/experience).

I also got my late Xmas present in the mail, a new pair of moto-style, rugged soled boots.  My old moto-style boots (purchased in early 2008) finally bit the dust, and I really needed a new pair.  I’ve been looking high and low for the perfect pair (had have a rubber sole, be made of leather, and be relatively versatile) since winter of 2010, and I think I found them:

Image

These are the Clark Orinocco Leap Motorcycle boots.  There were no more in my size at Zappos.  We had ordered them a 1/2 size up in time for Xmas but they were too big. Luckily, Amazon came to the rescue.  They look awesome with skinny jeans, leggings, and tights.  Pregnancy feet, please don’t swell up too much, so I can enjoy these not too pricey boots for a while.

I am not doing too much in the way of New Year’s resolutions.  I’ve already had pregnancy goals to be healthy, exercise, educate myself, and try to reduce stress between now and the delivery.  But I do want to have the explicit, blog announced goal of not going crazy with maternity clothes buying.  I am officially no longer comfortable in jeans (my good friend sent me a Bella band, and it’s been helpful!) and a part of me wants to buy buy buy.  But I’m still relatively early on, not “really” showing, so I want to restrain myself.  I hope this blog will help keep me accountable to use my existing clothes, DIY, and thrift as much as possible.  I don’t need pricey new clothes for a body shape that is only temporary.

The week between Xmas and NYE was filled with ambitious food projects.  The major one was making croissants, a first for me.  This was the final outcome:
Image

I used this recipe, which was supposed to make 12 croissants, but I only squeezed out about 9.  Oops.  You can see my shaping needs more practices.  I believe that I could have been more successful I used a low-protein pastry flour, but we only had a higher protein bread flour on hand.  I used Plugaria butter, as recommended.

Here were some of the steps:

Enveloping the butter with the doughImage

“Turning” the dough:

Image

Image

Shaping the dough:

Image

As you can see, I made four pain au chocolat, although I should have baked them with the seam side down.  Next time, next time!

This process took over 12 hours (because I refrigerated the dough after the final “turn” overnight), so next time I’ll double the recipe.  And I will use better flour.

Hope everyone has a lovely and relaxing New Year’s Day!

About susanify

Brooklyn-based, cheap, nerdy, and mom-to-be. Blogger formerly known as Rad.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Croissants and the New Year

  1. Anne says:

    Happy New Year, lady! I’m so glad to hear your appointment went well! I think pregnancy sounds totally interesting and exciting, especially since I’m currently in the phase of everyone asking “How’s married life?” Since it’s so drastically different in my day-to-day life and all.

    Mmmm, these croissants look so yummy! I love the idea of wrapping anything around butter 🙂 Definitely make these again – there’s so many possibilities! Our farmer’s market has these yummy ham & cheese croissant, so you could go sandwich style in addition to sweet chocolatey ones too.

  2. susanify says:

    Yeah, we got that a lot too after we married. I think the answer is “awesome!” Because it is (non-married life was also awesome but they weren’t asking that, I guess?)
    Dude, I want to make an egg and bacon croissant. I’ll do it some time when Blokey goes to work some day and I stay home. If I feel decadent, then I’ll add cheese. CHOLESTEROL BOMB!

  3. Pingback: Sweden-bound! (And your jet lag strategies here) | Susanify

Leave a Reply

