Saturday to do list

Hello, internets!  It’s a bright, sunny and cold as @*!! day in Brooklyn.  I had a decent to do list, including finishing an application for an internal research award, read for a paper I want to write, spend some time with the man, and most important: bake something and make something.  OK, so far the last two have been completed, and I’ll do the next most important thing (make time for the honey) next.  Sunday morning can be a time to make up for my Saturday fun times.

I will be 21 weeks tomorrow (with means 16 weeks until full term!  And the end of the semester).  I noticed recently that laying on my back is increasingly uncomfortable. I guess there are a lot of reasons for this.  I find myself waking up in the night after 5 or 6 hours, feeling weird pressure in my belly.  Since my belly isn’t so big yet, it must have something to do with the fluids.  Anyway, I really want a way too pricey maternity body pillow.  They look like a snuggly hug.  Like this Snoogly thing:

Image

It is currently $65 at Babys R Us (not including shipping).  This is a little steep for something that isn’t so technologically advanced.  I thought “I can make it” and sought out a few online tutorials.  I found a few things, but there weren’t such great ones in terms of a pattern, so I just DIY’d it, kindergarden style.

Image

First, I had the fella trace me in the shape of the body pillow model.  (Why is there a manuscript on the crotch here? Why are my breasts so pointy?) Then I traced what I thought would be a good size, fitting my outline, and cut.  I sewed together some scrap fabrics, ironed, and cut.  Image

 

Image

I sewed around it, leaving a few openings, and stuffed with fiberfill.  (This ran me about $18 from Amazon.) 

The prototype appeared to skinny and anemic.  I want my big snuggly hug pillow!Image

Being lazy or not wanting to waste more craft paper, I just used the old pattern to draft a much fatter version onto the fabric I wanted to use.  It turned out much better.  (I purposefully understuffed the middle section, so I can move it around at night.)  The most stuffed section is the head area:

Image

Oh, I made this pillow while making Swedish Kanelbulle.  I found a recipe here.

I mostly followed it but I didn’t roll it up and cut it.  I regret this choice, but only a little.Image

Here they are before a final rise.

Image

Post baking: they set off the new fire alarm.  Does a 700 sq. ft apartment really need two fire alarms? 

We have plans to go for a walk but that seems awfully ambitious now.  Mostly, I want to watch something stupid and snuggle.  We already ate way too many kanelbulle, though.

About susanify

Brooklyn-based, cheap, nerdy, and mom-to-be. Blogger formerly known as Rad.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Saturday to do list

  1. Anne says:

    I love that you made your own pillow! Bob and I were amused by the sketches, mainly the visual image of blokey tracing you 🙂

    Did you find something stupid to watch? Because we may have watched Groundhog’s Day today… twice. Well, I did at least – Bob and the dogs were asleep for one viewing.

    • susanify says:

      We watched only 1 hour and 8 minutes of the “Wild Bunch.” I consider Sam Peckinpah movies to be stupid and arty. So uber masculine and violent in a non-funny way. I had to end it halfway, though, because it was almost 9PM.

    • susanify says:

      Yeah, why did blokey make me so pointy? He needs to get used to tracing bodies- that was one of my favorite activities!

  2. Colleen says:

    Your sleeping pillow looks awesome! Nice work!

Leave a Reply

