Belly pics (and stuff I put in my belly)

So like many preggo ladies, sometimes I overthink things.  I am trying not to be anxious pregnant chick, but I am so good at it sometimes.  I read on FitPregnancy that what I eat now will affect the tastes of my baby-to-be.  I am craving sweets (not a lot, but more than I’d like to be eating) and occasionally indulging.  It’s OK for our child to want the occasional cookie/candy, but kale is important, too.   But then I really wanted something like a treat, so I made these lower in sugar, whole wheat, no-butter, yogurt based chocolate muffins

DSCF7807

I also run about 3 miles, 3 times a week, at a very chill pace (about 9:30 minutes/mile), usually on the treadmill.  (I’ll go outside when it gets warmer, if I’m feeling confident about my balance).  I don’t like any other kind of cardio besides running, but I have been worried that perhaps even a relaxed pace (for me- my friend in Baltimore considers 8:00 minutes/mile to be a relaxed pace) might be too much.  PubMed to the rescue!  Evident, preggo rats who jog on treadmills for 30 minutes/day until birth had baby rats with improved brain performance.  Win-win.  (Not that I plan to be a Tiger Mom!)

The only slight hiccup is that I have some (minor) pelvic pain when I run.  It started around week 12 and I generally ignore it.  But as my bump becomes bigger and heavier, I may need to take additional measures.  This includes such glamorous options as Gabrialla maternity support belt, pictured below:

images(sexy!)

Oh, and here are my 21 week pics.  I don’t usually wear skin tight long underwear and yoga pants, so I probably look a lot less pregnant in public (especially at work!)

21 weeks face

This bump above looks itty-bitty, but at a different angle:

week 21 hugeI look a lot more pregnant!  Crazy town!

About susanify

Brooklyn-based, cheap, nerdy, and mom-to-be. Blogger formerly known as Rad.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Belly pics (and stuff I put in my belly)

  1. Anne says:

    Wow, you’ve got a substantial bump going on! And those muffins look yummy! I love any baked good that combines chocolate and yogurt. Also, have you ever tried mixing cocoa powder and a little honey with plain greek yogurt and freezing it? Because that’s pretty delicious too 🙂

    And don’t forget your friend in Chicago who considers even 10:30 to be really, really fast. I think my “chill” pace is around 13 minutes! Me doing 9:30 would mean someone is chasing me across a burning bridge and I’m on skates.

    • Melanie says:

      Haha! I thought the same thing about your “easy” pace! You look great! I’m so impressed with your restraint and healthy eating throughout your pregnancy. Nice work!

  2. Franca says:

    haha, I stuffed myself with chocolate and didnt exercise except for antenatal yoga after i lost wgat little running form i had due to morning sickness! you’re doing amazingly well! Only saving grace is I did eat tons of fruit & veg as well. ill be a bit upset if he ends up as a fussy eater.

    it is weird about the size of the bump, looks so much bigger in the second pic!

    • susanify says:

      Let’s see if Milo enjoys chocolates (paired with fruit and veg!)
      I stopped jogging in the first trimester and walked a lot. But I found that nothing solves my annoying pregnancy tension headaches like a run. I will be sad if I have to stop before the end.
      I bet the second picture is more indicative of what my bump looks like. I need to embrace that I look pregnant and wear mumus and tent like outfits exclusively to teach my courses.

  3. Monet says:

    You look amazing! My bump is getting so big. I don’t think there’s room because I feel so much bigger than you! And I completely agree…I also crave sugar, but I’m trying to steer away from it as much as possible. Your running routine is admirable! I’m not a runner, but I do walk about 2-3 miles each day. So far so good! Thank you for sharing all this goodness!

  4. Ashli Tweedie says:

    These muffins sound great….who could turn down healthy cake! Your little bump is so cute.

Leave a Reply

