Stress break!

Hello, internet!  I just got done with one of the most stressful weeks I’ve had in a long time.  Work stress, piled on top of exam grading, piled on top of general pregnancy nuttiness, created a perfect a storm of wigging out, since around last Thursday (sorry, hus-dude). But that’s mostly over now (except one more conference paper, and a full week of work), and soon it will be glorious spring break!

 

ImageThanks to my lovely colleague, also a new mom, for bringing me Sumo oranges!

ImageThis is what I wore to my stress-causing presentation on Thursday (which went very well).  These aren’t maternity pants, just a pair of GAP dress pants about 2 sizes too big (pre-pregnancy) that I picked up at the thrift store.  From here on out- no more (non-elastic) waistbands for the next three months!

ImageWithout giving away too much of what caused said stress, let’s just say I found myself on the East side on Thursday, and took photos of the UN. 

Image

Here I am trying on some maternity jeans from H&M’s MAMA collection, which I was loathe to buy. (So I didn’t.  Thanks to my prior pregnant buddies for the hand me down maternity clothes).  I am 26 and a half weeks here.  I’ll be 27 weeks on Sunday, which according to whom you ask, as either the last week of the second trimester or the first week of the third.  Visibly pregnant, but still pretty functional (I can still touch my toes and do most yoga poses, but sometimes I get winded easily).  Luckily, Blokey has taken over a lot of household duties (something that took my stress freak out session to establish, not becaue he wasn’t willing, but because I am a bit of a control freak). 

My due date is exactly 3 months from now.  Little belly buddy remains super active and snacky!  Time to feed him some cheese.

Hope those of you on spring break are enjoying it.  Or have enjoyed it.  Or will it enjoy it soon.  Those of you who don’t have spring break, well, there’s always the “Spring Breakout” episode of Arrested Development to enjoy…

Image(Try not to end up like Kitty Sanchez and accept a drinking contest that you’re gonna lose)

About susanify

Brooklyn-based, cheap, nerdy, and mom-to-be. Blogger formerly known as Rad.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Stress break!

  1. Raquelita says:

    I hope you and your little buddy enjoy the cheese and make it through the next week unscathed so that you can get to glorious spring break! Spring break was so excellently refreshing for me that I wish that it could continue — at least until it actually feels like spring here.

    • susanify says:

      Many thanks, Ray! I’ve enjoyed reading about your spring break. I hope Alaska has an unseasonable warm March and quick spring!
      (We did enjoy the cheese. We had to wait for Fella to buy it, first!)

  2. Anne says:

    Normally I’d complain about being corporate and not having a spring break (SPRING BREAK!), but given that I’m going on vacation in a few weeks, I’ll skip that 🙂

    I’m glad you’re letting blokey help you around the house! Anything to minimize your stress a little is definitely a good thing.

  3. jayokayo says:

    ah-hum, how did i not know you had a blog? 🙂

Leave a Reply

