Recovery weekend, and lentil-walnut pate

It’s SPRING BREAK!  Which means that instead of teaching, going to many meetings, having non-stop appointments with students (my fault this time), and working on papers/research obligations, I will only spend time on my own papers/research.  And maybe a few days hours of doing very little related to my career (crazy, I know).  But all in all, I’m happier and more relaxed than the past two weeks.

This weekend (starting Friday), I did the following:

1) Tried to deliver a form to the ACS for Rebecca.  FAILED.

2) Continued to get super cheap stuff via parenting list serves- including a Baby Moby and a Ergo.  This may have happened:

Image
(Blokey wants you to know that these are his trashy, hanging out in the apartment clothes.  He is no old school poorly dressed dad-to-be)

3) I went to the gym after a long, almost week-long stretch of not going.  Ran 1.75 miles and walked.  Saturday night was the worst night of pelvic girdle pain in a while (I really need to learn my lesson- just because I feel good now doesn’t mean I’ll feel good later).

4) I finally got back in the kitchen, even though I’ve resolved NOT to be so ambitious about everyday food (occasional big meals are OK, but Blokey is encouraging me not to aim for 3 course meal type things everyday).

Image
White whole wheat banana bread with walnuts and chocolate chips.  Let’s not discuss exactly how much is leftover right now.

5) Saw an old friend (it’s been 7 years).  He is one of these people who hasn’t aged a day since I met him in 2000.  We went to a Belgian cafe and we agreed that sharing a savory (salmon omelette) and a sweet dish (strawberry waffles  was the winner solution.  We both experience stoempf for the first time. Where have you been all my life, leek-y, creamy mashed potatoes? (Expect to see a home made version here soon.  This recipe looks promising.)

6) After much planning, we made a few loaves of the cold fermentation bread in Healthy Bread in Five Minutes A Day (OK, baking your own bread is pretty ambitious but the big thing is that we’re doing it together).  Our first loaf was gummy.  I kneaded more flour into this second loaf and let it rise longer.  It was pretty good (although a bit flat).  We may have eaten the whole thing for dinner.

Image

For dinner tonight, we had the bread with some simple stuff- arugula, avocado, and red onion salad, a lentil-walnut pate, and an omelette with Jarlsberg cheese.

Image

Dudes, lentil walnut pate (upper left corner) is so good, and an excellent source of protein for the gestating types.  My former co-op in Minneapolis had this kick-ass version in the deli that used tarragon and some fancy vinegars. There are loads of variations but I looked a bunch and went for simple.

Lentil-Walnut Pate

1/2 lbs (half a bag) of dried lentils
1/2 c. of shelled walnuts
3 cloves of garlic
1/4 c. (or so) of olive oil
juice of 2 lemons
salt and pepper to taste

(possible add-ins: parmesan cheese, sauteed mushrooms, 1/4 c. of parsley, sauteed mushrooms, oregano or rosemary)

Cook the lentils, about 18 minutes, until done but not overly soft.  Blend/process all the ingredients (including any add-ins) except for seasonings together.  Adjust the olive oil, salt, and pepper (and other spices  to taste.  Serve with bread/wasa crackers.

About susanify

Brooklyn-based, cheap, nerdy, and mom-to-be. Blogger formerly known as Rad.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Recovery weekend, and lentil-walnut pate

  1. Ashli says:

    This lentil pâté sounds amazing. I am definitely trying it. Looks like a fabulous spring break, enjoy!

    • susanify says:

      Thanks, Ashli! Let me know how your pate gets received by the kids! I’m always curious to know if I’ll be eating any of these foods after the baby arrives (and eats his himself).

  2. Anne says:

    Ha! I just love that picture of Blokey! The hippo looks quite secure and loved, so I think mini-Blokey will be all set.

    Your Belgian cafe meal sounds so yummy! I love a good salmon omelet (the fish place by us has a really yummy one). And I think I have the same thing with cooking – every meal must be really elaborate! I need to break myself of that, because we eat pretty late some nights because of it.

    • susanify says:

      Aw, thanks. I think Blokey will be a good attachment-type dad. He looks like a natural baby-wearer!
      Yeah, I think when I have the time and am less stressed (like weekends) more elaborate meals make sense. But when I put pressure on myself to make complicated meals, than sometimes cooking seems too overwhelming when I am tired. Nothing wrong with a plate whole grain, a protein source (usually beans) and some veggies as a simple, whole meal. I think that once mini-Blokey comes along, we will learn that such simplicity is quite OK!

      • Anne says:

        Exactly! I have the same feeling – if there’s any mini-Shepwells in the picture, I can’t spend a couple hours staging and cooking dinner just to feed us by 9pm! So I guess we should enjoy the big, elaborate dinners now!

Leave a Reply

