Third trimester update

This “return to blogging” has been pretty pathetic.  Probably because I started at a time when I should have been cutting back on my extra-curriculars, but oh well.

I am now almost 29 weeks. Crazy.  Here’s what I look like, without my messy hair:Image(I realize that my cat looks like he has been stretched out and digitally manipulated, but I assure you, this is what he looks like when hungry).

I really need to take my “do less, worry less” goals more seriously.  This is Spring Break, so instead of laying around, like this (as was the goal):

Image

I decided that this would be a great time to socialize with people I haven’t seen, as pregnancy makes me sleepy.  On Monday evening, Blokey and I went to see friends from my old pool team. To make a long story short, I ended up having weird, painful menstrual like cramps that night and had to go to Labor and Delivery Triage in the morning. It wasn’t Braxton-Hicks, and it wasn’t round ligament pains, but luckily everything checked out. Plus, I got to see little buddy on the sonogram manchine.  He is already 3 lbs and 2 oz.  Big guy!  I am cleared to fly to California next week. 

Anyway, I’ve been having long chats with belly buddy about the importance of being patient enough to stay inside until he is full term, or close to full term.  Little buddy is already head down, and occasionally punching downwards. 

Other than this scare, the first week of my final trimester has been nice.  After our hospital visit, I took my napping responsibilities seriously.  And there are still plenty of social plans for the rest of the week, but I am trying to cut down on my other ambitions and responsibilities between now and my SF trip.

It’s finally in the 50s and sunny here in NYC.  Is Spring actually here?  I took out a bunch of my warmer weather clothes (many of which are summery dresses) and realized that they just don’t fit my new figure.  Everything has spread and I had no idea how fitted my tops were to my formerly small chestal arena, so my optimistic idea that I’d wear a lot of existing summer dresses when the weather changed has been dashed.  Bigger summer/spring dresses are on my second hand shopping list.

Hope everyone else has been feeling something like spring in their parts!

About susanify

Brooklyn-based, cheap, nerdy, and mom-to-be. Blogger formerly known as Rad.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Third trimester update

  1. Anne says:

    1. Ahhhhh! Look at you! Nice bump, lady! But yeah…. I can see why you might need some new dresses. I wish I could help, but my too-big dresses would probably be substantially too big 🙂
    2. That does sound like a scare! Yikes! Glad to hear you’re both okay. Did they have any idea what was happening? I think Melanie was telling me that things like that are more routine than a lot of people think, but I’m glad you got it checked out. You should talk to my cousin Ally – I think she actually did have Braxton-Hicks, but her daughter was born breech.

    • susanify says:

      Thanks, Anne! All of the sudden, I am visibly pregnant to everyone, from the construction dude to nice people on the subway (most of them don’t notice). Yep, it’s a whole new body that I never knew how to dress before. Weird. (Not complaining, though. Well, not anymore).
      Eek, third trimester is a lot scarier than I thought! Good to hear that it’s widespread. I am sure that little guy (big guy?) will turn multiple times before it TIME, but for now, he’s raring to go. Goal-oriented, isn’t he!

  2. Raquelita says:

    That trip to the hospital sounds really scary, but I’m glad you and baby are okay and have been cleared to fly! Are you doing a lot of the belting above the bump? It looks great here with the shades of blue!

    • susanify says:

      Thanks! I haven’t been doing much belting above the bump. Mostly, I’ve been wearing the same t-shirts and maternity jeans over and over again, and they don’t work well with belting. Also, this belt is on the loosest notch and is too tight. Everything has expanded!

Leave a Reply

