Home Sweet Home

I am easily excited, especially by travel where I get to see far flung friends.  But the reality is that I’m also a homebody, who loves cooking, walking around and exploring nearby neighborhoods, sleeping in my own bed, and lazing about with my dude and cats.  So on trips, I get really excited, make lots of plans to spend time with as many people/at as many places as possible, and get stressed out at the end and crash with exhaustion when I get home.  And swear that I won’t travel again for a long time.  A few weeks/months pass, I miss my friends, and the whole cycle starts again!

I got back from SF on Sunday, after a Saturday that went like this: jam packed friend-filled and professional activities (and food) until 9:30 PM, then taking a cab to my old hotel, then a BART train to the airport, then a cab to my airport hotel by 11 PM (which turned out to be a scary dark motel), then attempting to sleep (but being scared and big, which wasn’t fruitful), getting up at 4:30 AM, taking a 5:15 AM shuttle to the airport, then finally boarding a 7AM flight back to NYC- my smelly, rude, perfect-for-me adopted hometown.  So relieving.

I know many people love SF, and I had a great time there.  It was a nice place to visit, it was great to see friends, and I enjoyed how pretty everything was.  But I totally wimped out on the constantly changing weather.  Jenna Maroney was right about the Bay Area

Image

“Have fun always carrying around a light sweater!”

Here are some pictures of the pretty:

Image

Bed and Breakfast in Alamo Square, where I stayed the first night.

 

Image

Concierge, there’s little Swedish girls in my bed!

 

Image

Even concrete steps are pretty here

Image

Crazy, pretty trees (anyone know what these are called?)

Image

Love the old houses.  I want to take my little buddy there some day so we can look at these together.

Image

A Buddha in the Japanese Gardens, Golden Gate Park.  (Sadly, I did not pick up any West Coast Zen qualities during my trip.  I continue to buzz on my naturally occurring uppers)

Image

More Japanese Gardens prettiness

Image

A blurry picture of me at 30 weeks (well, a few hours from 30 weeks), taken in my scary motel room which had a very long full length mirror.  You can see how how I’ve gotten sorta thicker in general.  25 lbs will do that to you.  (Evidently, I need this for breastfeeding.  I hope I am as generous in my mammary flow as I currently am in my thigh area).

30 weeks!  As of today, that’s 9 weeks and 3 days until my due date.  6 weeks and 3 days until full term.  My friends all had opinions about my belly and my pregnancy, most commonly friends who had been pregnant thought I looked very compact for being 3/4 done.  This is a stealth advantage of the long-torso- so much more room for belly buddy to grow up, rather than out. 
That said, I’m sure I’ll be sticking out more very soon.

Hope spring has sprung where you are! 

About susanify

Brooklyn-based, cheap, nerdy, and mom-to-be. Blogger formerly known as Rad.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Home Sweet Home

  1. E Jo says:

    Ha! I just returned from a conference and your cycle of excitement/ exhaustion/ homebody-ness is super familiar. Though I did just book my next (non-work-related) travel for 2.5 months from now. The trip I just got back from was my 7th in just under a year so apparently I like to keep on a nearly every 2 month schedule despite my total hermit inclinations. Anyhow, you’re looking awesome! And I love the SF pictures. That city has a ridiculous share of prettiness. I’ve only been once, and in late December. Also, I love Jenna Maroney. She is clearly a surrealist genius.

    • susanify says:

      7th in a year? You are a traveling rockstar. Isn’t it weird how one can both feel wanderlust and a desire to veg out with pets at home?
      Thanks for the lovely comment! I am generally feeling good, even though I can’t button jackets and I keep looking down in amazement at this new body.
      Agreed- SF is too pretty. Probably too pretty for someone as grimy as myself!

  2. Raquelita says:

    I’m simultaneously excited and exhausted when I think about my upcoming summer travels, so I can definitely relate to the cycle of homebody to traveller to back. I agree with the wise E Jo about your looking awesome and the loveliness of the San Francisco photos. I hope I can spend some more time in that city again before too long even if it means changeable weather and the heinous inconvenience of carrying around a light sweater.

    • susanify says:

      You also have a rockstar travel schedule! I don’t know how you do it. I don’t know how I did field research (but when I think of doing it again, I want to take a nap). Who knows-maybe we’ll be reading about an Alaska-SF-Ohio-Madrid-AK trip to come soon!

Leave a Reply

