34 days/7 days…

Yesterday was 35 weeks, which is the fancy “35 weeks in, 35 days left” moment.  Also, after today, there are 7 more days of “work” left (and 34 days until the due date). Which isn’t to say that I’m done working by next Monday, but that classes (and final exams) as we know it will be done.  Still piles of grading, paper writing, and possibly grant completion are ahead of me (and the general buzzing of trying to write/research), as well as assembling materials for annual review, but it seems less like work when you don’t have to be out the door at 6:30 AM.

Image

This weekend, I kept my ambitions low, although it seemed that I spent a good amount of time around people, plus talking to my mom non-stop on the phone.  I wish I could have visited her for Mother’s Day, but Atlanta is just too far for this very preggo lady.  Maybe next year (or at least I’ll try to come for an extended stay during my maternity leave).

We also set up a swing/cradle for the cats to get used to baby stuff (and to move the huge box out of our hallway area).  Dude, baby stuff takes up a lot of space.  We live in less than 700 sq. feet (aka big for NYC).  If our buddy doesn’t like this, we’re donating it/giving it away ASAP.

Image

The cats are very suspicious of hippo, who appears to be the new overlord of the living room!

Here are some pics of the beautiful Brooklyn Botanical Gardens, which I was able to visit with out of town friends last weekend.  It’s not even 20 minutes of a walk from my place, yet I never go.  Probably because I have bad allergies around this time of year (but it hasn’t been too bad yet, thank you unseasonably long winter) and I am bad about stopping to smell the roses (or the tulips, or the Japanese cherry blossoms), so it was great to play tourist for once!
Image

20130502_084114 (1)

About susanify

Brooklyn-based, cheap, nerdy, and mom-to-be. Blogger formerly known as Rad.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 34 days/7 days…

  1. Ashli says:

    Getting so close, very exciting! And I agree, it is insane how such a tiny little creature can take up so much space!

    • susanify says:

      Thank you! We haven’t even begun to set up the bulk of the stuff (aka we need to get a bit more stuff) and we are in active denial. Not for much longer!

  2. Anne says:

    Awwwww! Wow, you’ve really popped! And only 35 days left!

    I love that the hippo fills in for the little dude right now. I hope it doesn’t feel too displaced soon. But it’s probably a good idea to get the cats used to the idea of someone else hanging out in the apartment.

    The botanic gardens are really pretty! I’ve only been to ours a couple times, even though they’re on my way home from work.

    • susanify says:

      Hippo has a strong sense of self, so we don’t have to worry about upsetting him too much!
      It’s funny- I never think the belly looks any bigger, but I think it definitely sunk lower over the weekend. We’ll see what the doc says on Thursday!

  3. Melanie says:

    You look so good, and I agree that the little man has dropped! Hope he hangs in there long enough for you to finish work stuff, as if work stuff is ever really finished. We found that we used a lot less of the big “stuff” with #2, but never would have thought so with #1. Good luck with the last minute prep. A month is still plenty of time!

    • susanify says:

      Aw, what a sweet thing to say! Yes, here’s to hoping that little buddy stays put for just a little longer! Any sage advice on big things that we definitely must have? We have the swing set up, the co-sleeper thing, loads of clothes (including fancy swaddles). Pack n play and diapers on the list!

Leave a Reply

