How we get work done

image

As mentioned earlier, I am (almost) officially one of those crazy moms who wraps her kid and wears him everywhere. Leon has ridden in a stroller 3 times in his life, and I think he only put up with it for clear reasons (some new girls were entertaining him, with a sitter, etc.).

I say “almost” because I haven’t yet dropped over $100 on a beautiful woven wrap.  (See Wrap your baby for information on where all my money could go).  I made Leon’s wrap out of a linen fabric I purchased on Fulton Ave in Brooklyn last summer, following these directions.  At $6/year, I paid only $36 for enough material for two wraps.  (Sure, it’s not as pretty as the Leo Storch, but we are cheapos here, remember?)  I just hemmed it, cut it in half, and cut “tails” to aid in tying.  I also attended an Babywearing International Meetup at Caribou Baby (in Greenpoint, Brooklyn.  Another place where all my money could go) and learned how to do back-carries from this amazing woman.

So far, Leon and I can do the rucksack/reinforced rucksack and the double hammock carry (more comfy, but more tricky).  I just put him on my back, and cook, clean, check emails.  He gets a new view of the world, and he is close to me.  I get a quasi workout. Win-win.

About susanify

Brooklyn-based, cheap, nerdy, and mom-to-be. Blogger formerly known as Rad.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to How we get work done

  1. Anne says:

    This is probably a silly question, but how do you wrap Leon on your back yourself? Just lots of practice? 🙂 Glad you guys can hang out together even while you’re doing stuff around the house!

  2. susanify says:

    GOod question! It takes practice, but there a few ways to get him on my back. I am only good at the “hip scoot.” I’ll post a video, maybe?

Leave a Reply

