Stroller run #1

image

Since today was a downright balmy 45 degrees and sunny, I thought it was a good day to try the new-to-me jogging stroller. (It is an old school Baby Jogger). I took Leon out in it once when it was 20 something degrees and he was not impressed.
It was warm enough to skip the crazy fluffy fleece blanket layers, so I just dressed L in a fleece jacket, pants, bootie and a hat. He cried when I put him in there, but Daddy calmed him down. Then we did quick 1.75 mile jog. He didn’t smile, but he didn’t cry. He was probably a little overwhelmed. I squatted down next to him at every red light to reassure him. When we got back to our building, he still seemed OK. But then when we got to our apartment’s front door, Leon totally lost it. Poor kid.
I am hoping that he will learn to like it eventually. He hqs only ridden in a stroller 2 times before. I will try 5 more times (in warmish weather) before I give away the stroller. I got it for free off the nieghborhood parents listserve. Score.
I also learned that I am in not so great condition. I walk everywhere carrying Leon, but I lost all my previous conditioning. This isn’t my first postpartum run but I haven’t been as consistent as I would like. I hope to change that with soon.

About susanify

Brooklyn-based, cheap, nerdy, and mom-to-be. Blogger formerly known as Rad.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Stroller run #1

  1. Anne says:

    I’m glad you guys got out there to enjoy the weather! I’m sure it’s probably just because the stroller is a new thing for Leon, hopefully he’ll take to it a little more after another couple of tries. I know a lot of runners who use running strollers, so a lot of kids must not totally hate it 🙂

  2. susanify says:

    Thanks, Anne! I hope that he learns to not hate it, eventually. Here’s hoping for some decent weather soon!

Leave a Reply

